writing

HAPPY NEW YEAR – 2013 here we come :-)

Happy New Year BubblyHappy New Year!

Wishing you health, happiness, love and lots to smile about for you and your loved ones…

When I look back at my resolutions for 2012, I realize I´ve accomplished some of them, but others were left in the dust.

Last night, on our back to my MIL´s place after a fun evening at my in-laws, a French song came on the radio. And I started singing out loud, a smile on my face, even dancing a little. I felt happy and like I could do anything I set my mind to.

I´d like to keep some of this feeling all year long. I know there will be ups and downs. I know I cannot plan every single thing and that there will be moments I want to curl up in a ball and cry. But…I also need to fully enjoy the happy moments like those ones. I need to not be afraid of what could come and look forward to what I can make happen.

And I´m going to start with THE JAN PLAN – brainchild of Fabulous Christa. In January, I will finish one project.

See last year, I wanted to finish PLAYING WITH FIRE, revise it, and query it. Well…I did finish it, revised it but then realized it needed a rewrite. Instead, I wrote an entirely new book, revised it (several times) and even started querying it before I entered it in PitchWars.  There, not only was I chosen as an alternate by the lovely Dahlia, I also received some feedback on how I could make ONE TWO THREE stronger.

I thought long and hard about the suggestions and comments…and started revising. Again. And wow…I mean…wow. This revision is kicking my butt. Don´t get me wrong, all my revisions were tough but I feel like this one is helping me connect even more with my characters and I think it makes the story shine.

But…I´m only on Chapter 6  and I need to be done with it by the end of January, as even the alternates for PitchWars will be showcased on a blog for agents to look through should they wish to.

I´m on a deadline. And with JanPlan I can also get inspired by all those participating and cheer them on as I work hard to meet that deadline.

What else am I planning to achieve in 2013?

  • Write GUILTY, revise it and maybe query it (if ONE TWO THREE doesn´t find a home…)
  • Do more sports aka stop fighting my husband when he wakes me up to go jog. I do love jogging but sometimes the leaving the comfort of my bed to go jog during the week is tough.
  • Finding more of a balance. Work has been insane last year. And while I don´t think it will slow down in 2013, I need to find better ways to deal with it. Especially since my hubby will probably travel more and his schedule will get even busier.
  • I´m taking part in the Debut Author Challenge – to read and review at least 12 Debut Authors this year. I´ll share the list of Debut I am planning to read this year later on, but I can already tell you I´m quite excited about this year of reading.
  • Find a way to spend more time with my family-even if it´s only on Skype.
  • Enjoy more care-free moments with my hubby (and my cat),and more me-time.
  • I want to cook more, and bake more.
  • Attend the SCBWI conference in Paris.
  • Meet some of my dear blogger/Twitter friends IRL 😀
  • And many more…

My words for 2013?

Several lovely ladies (including Katy and Erin) last year picked a word as resolution…They were inspired by Jessica Corra who instead of coming up with resolutions picked a Word of the Year as she explained: Resolutions are too compartmental, too specific and practical. I prefer a word, an attitude, a way of being.

As you can see, I still like to have some goals and resolutions for a given year but I think there´s a certain way of being that goes along with them.

So for 2013, I ´ll pick two words:

PERSEVERANCE and APPRECIATE

What are you looking forward to in 2013?

 

15 thoughts on “HAPPY NEW YEAR – 2013 here we come :-)”

  1. Love your choice of words, Elodie! Perseverance is one I definitely need. Best wishes on the Jan Plan! And I hope 2013 brings you lots of happiness in every aspect of your life!

  2. I love your words for 2013. I have one too – going to share it tomorrow on my blog. 🙂

    You are going to ROCK 2013, I’m sure of it. Good luck with your Jan Plan revisions this month! I’m rooting for you (and #TeamSmittenKitten) and can’t wait to see what Pitch Wars brings us.

  3. Awesome words for the new year–I’m trying to pick mine out right now. And I love the idea of the Jan Plan! I think I’ll try to finish one thing this month, too.
    Happy New Year!

  4. I love your 2013 words and your positive attitude, Elodie. I always feel lighter and better after reading your blog posts… You rock! I think I’m going to join in on the debut Author Challenge this year. So important to support new and awesome authors!

  5. Love your list and wish you all the best in 2013! I too spend quite a bit of time on skype, I miss my Dad but it’s nice to actually get to see him in a video chat. Awesome word choices btw and seriously, where the heck did 2012 go?!

Comments put a smile on my face :-)